Count Down to Pentecost #5

2017-04-08 14.47.59-2

Fr Paul Stewart

HEY ה

 

Psalms 119: 33–40

 

33 Teach me, O LORD, the way of your statutes, and I shall keep it to the end.

34 Give me understanding, and I shall keep your law; Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart.

35 Make me walk in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it.

36 Incline my heart to your testimonies, And not to covetousness.

37 Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, and revive me in your way.

38 Establish your word to your servant, who is devoted to fearing you.

39 Turn away my reproach which I dread, for your judgments are good.

40 Behold, I long for your precepts; revive me in your righteousness.

We feel the desire in this Psalm to be taught by the Lord. When our late Bishop was a young man in the Lord, he marveled with those who could recite one scripture after another. He longed to be able to do the same- there was a time when a man came who could rattle off one verse after another. The young bishop asked the man if he could teach him how to do it. That very night the Lord spoke to him in that quiet still place within him. “Do you want that man to teach you or do you want me?” From that day until he went to the Lord, the Holy Spirit was his instructor.

“Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, and revive me in your way.” It is so easy to become dependent on others for our instructions when the Holy Spirit greatest desire is to lead you, Jesus. We can call out to him when we are dry and weary, Revive us, Lord! Not because I’m righteous in myself, but because you are. “Establish your word to your servant, who is devoted to fearing you.”

Like David and the men and women who have found this secret, turn to the Lord, and He will give you the ability, the Holy Spirit, to lift you up under His wings.

Leave a Reply

