Count Down to Pentecost #4

dsc04444.jpgBy Fr Paul Stewart

DALET ד

Psalms 119: 25-32

25 My soul clings to the dust; Revive me according to Your word.
26 I have declared my ways, and You answered me; Teach me Your statutes.
27 Make me understand the way of Your precepts; So shall I meditate on Your wondrous works.
28 My soul melts from heaviness; Strengthen me according to Your word.
29 Remove from me the way of lying, And grant me Your law graciously.
30 I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me.
31 I cling to Your testimonies; O LORD, do not put me to shame!
32 I will run the course of Your commandments, For You shall enlarge my heart.

“Revive me according to your word,” each morning as we awake we seek the Lord in some way.  Most of us read the Word and are quiet before Him.  He strengthens us, and refreshing takes place each new day.

King David knew the place where the weary soul finds its rest and the broken heart finds healing.  He knew the loving care of a Shepherd and the restlessness of the sheep.  “He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters; He restores my soul” (Psalms 23)

David knew the pasture to run in, the direction that would lead him to peace.  A man after the heart of God, he knew the impartation of the Lord.  Jesus gave us this impartation of the Holy Spirit, His direction for us.  This Holy Spirit clearly points us to our purpose and gives us the ability to carry it out.

He stops us from pursuing the ways that seem right, the lying voices around us and turns us on to the laws of life.

I can say like David, “I have chosen the way of truth,” and because of it I will not be denied.  My heart transformed, enlarged, because of your testimonies I am encouraged to run the course.

Thank you, Holy Spirit for your charge over my life!

 

 

Leave a Reply

